Just wanted to post a little of my own personal experience… maybe I did something wrong, maybe not.

My laptop is a Lenovo T60p and I just did a fresh install of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 10 SP1 code. I registered with my activation code to get any updates and downloaded them.

The installation automatically detected the right ATI driver for my card. The two packages that got installed were:

  • ati-fglrxG01-kmp-bigsmp-8.36.5_2.6.16.46_0.12-1
  • x11-video-fglrxG01-8.36.5-1

Before ScreenshotLooking at my Desktop Effects settings, this is what I see. Following the link for SAX2 runs fine, but ultimately does not help me to get those Desktop Effects working. The “3D Enabled” checkbox is even checked – but it’s grayed out. So how did I fix it?

I entered this single command as root from a terminal session:

# gnome-xgl-switch --enable-xgl

U ATI Technologies Inc Device: pci 0x71d4
DISABLE_USER_SUSPEND2DISK=””
DISABLE_USER_SUSPEND2RAM=””
DISABLE_USER_STANDBY=””
Warning! MD5DIR is not set: you probably called this script outside SuSEconfig…!
Using MD5DIR=”/var/adm/SuSEconfig/md5″…
No changes for /etc/X11/xdm/Xservers
No changes for /etc/X11/xdm/xdm-config

After restarting the graphical environment, the Desktop Effects magically works! Here’s what the Desktop Effects box looks like afterwards… I’m a happy SLED user once again!

After Screenshot

