In talking with several customers, it appears that your mileage will vary in terms of how long a laptop’s battery life might be if you run Linux. One thing’s for sure… making Linux more friendly towards power management is getting better and better. I can only speak of my own experiences. I’ve got a Lenovo T60p laptop, with an Intel Centrino Duo processor and I run SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 10 SP1. I typically get about 3-3.5 hours of battery life, and maybe a little less if I’m running wireless connections. What kind of battery life do you see on your hardware?

Obviously, the Linux community continues to work towards improving on this even further. Here’s a CNet article which talks about how developers are working on a “tickless” kernel which promises to make Linux even MORE frugal when it comes to energy usage. Additionally, here’s an article from SearchEnterpriseLinux.com that describes some of the collaboration between Novell and AMD related to power management.

Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to get 10 or 20 hours of battery life someday…

